First day of the second week… some help from Thoreau

Based on my blog stats, I don’t have too many readers lately. But for those of you who do check in or happen upon my blog, I apologize for being so rare a blogger. I haven’t found my rhythm yet as a graduate student, the rhythm that will allow me to do other things besides study, attend classes, work at the Writing Center, and get some sleep. Somehow I’ve got to find a way to a more re-generative (i.e., balanced) way of life — one that includes more rest, a little bit of prayer or mediation time, and some blogging and emailing time. A  moment to journal, to reflect on my studies would also be nice. Haven’t found the rhythm yet. I hope I do soon.

I just finished reading the Bedford Bibliographies brief history of composition and rhetoric, and I was going to try to go to sleep. But, while I was reading it, I got the idea to do my thesis on 19th century writing instruction, specifically what kind of instruction Thoreau received, how it shows up in his writing, and how it shines light on teaching writing in the early 21st century. And so I did a quick google search and found this article as a start:

Thoreau and Current Trends in the Teaching of Writing
Joan W. Pinkston
The English Journal, Vol. 78, No. 7 (Nov., 1989), pp. 50-52

Explores the journal writing of Henry David Thoreau. Asserts that his journals are an excellent example of writing to learn. Notes that students can benefit from emulating Thoreau’s approach to journal writing. (MM)

and then…

Thoreau and the Tradition of the Active Mind

Martin Bickman, University of Colorado
from Uncommon Learning: Thoreau on Education

Leave a Reply

