Yesterday and today, Theresa and Hedwig

Yesterday was the feast of St Teresa of Avila, the only* female doctor of the Catholic Church. I like this, from universalis.com (a site dedicated to the Liturgy of the Hours):

A favourite story about St Teresa illustrates the intimate relationship that the saints have with God. When she was on one of her innumerable journeys across Spain, her horse threw her as she was crossing a river. Soaked to the skin she looked up to heaven and said, “If this is how you treat your friends, no wonder you have so few of them!”

And today is the feast of St Hedwig. And my apologies to Hedwig of Andechs, the 13th century woman, but I can’t help but think more of Hedwig, the snowy OWL pet and mail-deliverer in Harry Potter’s world, and then of writing center OWLs in our own. So here’s to the 13th century duchess, to the OWLs who work so hard in the service of communication in the wizarding and witching world, and to all those writing center folk out there who respond to OWLs (student drafts).  You are all hereby honored today! Have a party!

10-17-08 Erratum: I don’t know why I felt so sure Theresa was the only female doctor of the church. I was reading excerpts from The Spiritual Brain tonight, and there was a section that mentioned that Catherine of Siena and St. Therese of Lisieux were also canonized as doctors. I knew that! I’d just forgotten. Ah, well… I guess chalk it up to me being only a protty who wouldn’t know any better. ;)

2 thoughts on “Yesterday and today, Theresa and Hedwig

  1. Had I known this earlier in the day, I would have had a much longer time to celebrate! Now I’ve only a few hours of OWLing festivities left. I did do two OWLz today though. Poor Hedwig. I don’t see why JK had to kill her off.

Leave a Reply

